Three Tribes

The three tribes are the Worrora, Wunumbul and Ngarinyin. The three tribes represent the Wandjina. The Wandjina made the tribes to be what they are today. We, the three tribes, are from the North Kimberley region of Western Australia. The area that makes up the three tribes starts from Oobagooma which is 150km north offs the coast of Derby, east across towards inland to Iminji and all the way up to Kalumburu. The tribes have travelled, moved and lived together. They share the similar stories, culture and language with different dialects. We still follow the Law, Culture and Language of the land today carrying it on strong and sharing.

Courtesy of Mowanjum Aboriginal Art & Culture Centre

..Acrylic on un-stretched canvas
..720mm x 720mm
Copyright Line
..© Mowanjum Aboriginal Art & Culture Centre 2015